When CBD oil first arrived on the market, there was a fair amount of controversy surrounding cannabis-derived products and devout Muslims.
Under Islamic law, only things that are considered to be halal are permitted.
If it is haram, it is forbidden.
To make it easier to make sense of this binary opposition, some Muslims split decisions into five parts: mandatory, recommended, neutral, reprehensible and forbidden.
Halal and haram are mandatory and forbidden on this scale.
However, CBD seems to exist in an unusual grey area. While some believe that anything derived from the cannabis plant is haram because it has the potential to get you high, others believe that as long as the CBD oil does not contain THC, it is halal.
So, is CBD oil halal or haram? Or can we consider it to be neutral?
In this article, we will explore some of the arguments for both sides, and offer some tips for Muslim customers looking to find a CBD oil that fits their faith.
What's in this Guide?
What is CBD Oil?
CBD oil is extracted from a strain of cannabis plant known as industrial hemp. This is naturally high in cannabinoids such as CBD but low in THC.
CBD oil is commonly used as a health and wellbeing supplement, with some people turning to this unique extract to help them relax and tackle a range of health problems.
CBD is available as a sublingual oil, in capsules, in gummy sweets, in vapes and more. It may be defined as full-spectrum, broad-spectrum or isolate.
Understanding these differences could help us to understand if CBD is halal or haram.
Full-spectrum contains a wide profile of cannabinoids, including trace amounts of CBD. Broad-spectrum contains other cannabinoids but no THC.
CBD isolate only contains cannabidiol.
How Does CBD Differ From Cannabis?
While CBD is extracted from the same plant species as cannabis, the two things are very different. CBD is extracted from industrial hemp, a strain of cannabis naturally low in THC and high in CBD.
CBD does not get you high and does not produce any of the side effects associated with cannabis use.
CBD doesn’t alter your mental state, slow reaction times or give you insatiable hunger.
Is CBD Oil Legal?
Another key distinction is that cannabis is a controlled substance and CBD is not.
The Home Office recognises that CBD is non-psychoactive, so it is legal to buy and use, provided the THC level remains below 0.2%.
And for those concerned about drugs testing, CBD will not show up on a drugs test because these are looking for traces of THC.
Since CBD is not a controlled substance, it would be uncommon to test for this substance.
What is Halal and Haram?
Halal and haram are universally applicable across all areas of a person’s life. Halal means permissible, while haram means forbidden. This can apply to anything from clothing and cosmetics to finance and media.
It’s important to remember that there is a single Islam and many Muslims. There are more than 1.8 billion Muslims globally, and interpretations of halal and haram may differ between regions and groups.
Some will take a much stricter interpretation of the Quran, while others may seem to be more relaxed.
Halal is most often used in relation to food. According to Islamic scripture, there are dietary standards that must be followed.
This includes the way an animal is slaughtered and prepared. But halal can also refer to lifestyle choices.
For example, alcohol and gambling are both haram.
Is Cannabis Halal or Haram?
Since cannabis is a mind-altering substance, it is considered to be haram by many Muslim scholars, although the Quran does not directly forbid it.
One clear exception is medical cannabis, which is considered halal if prescribed to treat a specific condition. However, some fear that becoming intoxicated with cannabis (medical or recreational) could lower inhibitions and lead to immoral behaviour.
Some consider anything intoxicating to be haram, and cannabis would fall under this category.
However, since cannabis is a natural product and may be used to heal, others argue that it should be permissible in certain situations.
Is CBD Oil Halal or Haram?
It is widely accepted that CBD products are halal, provided they contain no THC. And even those products that contain trace amounts of THC are acceptable to some Muslims.
Since CBD does not get you high, it exists in a grey area.
However, it’s important for Muslims to pay close attention to the other ingredients in their CBD products. CBD is often not the only ingredient, so it’s important to check labels carefully.
CBD gummies will often contain gelatin, and CBD capsules may be covered with a film coating that is not halal.
For example, some capsules use a Shellac coating, but this is not considered halal as alcohol is used in the production process. Vaping is also haram, even if you are using it for CBD and not tobacco products.
How Can You Be Sure of the Contents of Your CBD Oil?
A huge concern for many Muslim CBD users is that the contents of their CBD oil products can’t always be trusted. This is why it is essential to pay close attention to the brand and where they source their CBD.
For example, inferior CBD brands may use solvent extraction to separate the plant material. However, this method often uses ethanol (alcohol) as a solvent, which would make it haram.
The best CBD products are produced using supercritical CO2 extraction, which does not leave any solvent residue behind and does not use alcohol in the production process.
What is a CBD Certificate of Analysis?
If you are concerned about the THC content in your CBD and would rather avoid the substance altogether, look for a broad-spectrum CBD or CBD isolate.
The only one to avoid would be a full-spectrum CBD oil.
Broad-spectrum means that it has a range of cannabinoids but no THC. And a CBD isolate is a single cannabinoid.
Therefore, if a company does not reveal what type of CBD oil they are selling, they would be best avoided.
You can learn about the contents of your CBD oil by checking the compositional analysis certificate. This should be available to view before you purchase, but ask the seller if you aren’t sure.